IrEOES Archive

The Irish Olympiad of Experimental Science (IrEOES) is an individual science competition for Transition Year and Fifth Year students who are under seventeen on December 31st of the year that the competition starts. Round 1 takes place online in October or November and is accessible to any eligible student who wants to take part. The top students from Round 1 are invited to attend Round 2 in Dublin City University (DCU) in December or January. One gold, one silver and four bronze medals are awarded in the biology, chemistry, and physics competitions.

2021-2022 IrEOES/EOES

Ireland took part in EOES2022 in Hradec Králové, Czech Republic, from May 8 to May 14, 2022. Team A (Manahil Sabir, Dominika Ryzwanowicz, and Ben Gaughran) won a silver medal and Team B (Joe O’Grady, Aimee Bonar, and Lucy Garrett) took home a bronze. Congratulations and well done to all!

Round 3 of IrEOES 2021-2022 took place in person in Dublin City University on February 21st and 22nd, 2022. 

Seventeen students participated in 1.5 days of training and an experimental test. Many thanks to all students and staff who made it two very nice days for everybody. In the end, six students were selected to represent Ireland at the 2nd EOES. Huge congratulations to Aimee Bonar, Lucy Garrett, Ben Gaughran, Joe O’Grady, Manahil Sabir, and Yilong (Calvin) She.

Round 2 of IrEOES 2021-2022 took place in person in Dublin City University on Saturday January 22nd, 2022.

A total of 90 students took part, 36 in Biology, 30 in Chemistry, and 24 in Physics. The standard was incredibly high. Many thanks to Martyna Bartusiak, David Cullinane, Eamonn Cunningham, Deirdre Delaney, Melissa Finnegan, Enda McGlynn, John Noone, and Fiona O’Connor for helping out on the day.

After the competition, the students were treated to an interdisciplinary lecture by Dr. Jennifer Gaughran of DCU on microfluidics and compostable plastics.

The 6 medal winners in each subject progress to Round 3. They are:

gold Brigid O’Reilly Coola Post-Primary School, Sligo
silver Joe O’Grady Gonzaga College SJ, Dublin
bronze Sarah McGovern St. Vincent’s Secondary School, Dundalk, Co. Louth
bronze Sanjay Menon Sandford Park School, Ranelagh, Dublin
bronze Ava Murphy Midleton College, Midleton, Co. Cork
bronze Manahil Sabir St. Aloysius School, Cork, Co. Cork

gold Aimee Bonar Loreto Letterkenny, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
silver Yilong She St. Columba’s College, Whitechurch, Dublin
bronze Ahron Shibbu Mathew St. Oliver’s Community College, Drogheda, Co. Louth
bronze Ruadhán Ó Conaire St. Colman’s College, Claremorris, Co. Mayo
bronze Dominika Ryzwanowicz Fingal Community College, Swords, Co. Dublin
bronze Seamus Stritch Hazelwood College, Dromcollogher, Co. Limerick

gold Fionn Kimber O’Shea Christian Brothers College, Cork
silver Benjamin Gaughran St. Brendan’s College, Killarney, Co. Kerry
bronze Tomás Casado St. Columba’s College, Whitechurch, Dublin
bronze Qingyi Chen Mount Anville Secondary School, Goatstown, Co. Dublin
bronze Lucy Garrett Dominican College, Taylor’s Hill, Galway
bronze Oscar Sun St. Andrew’s College, Booterstown, Co. Dublin


Round 1 of IrEOES 2021-2022 took place online on Saturday November 6th, 2021. A total of 230 students took part, 111 in Biology, 57 in Chemistry, and 62 in Physics. A huge thanks to all the teachers who brought the competition to the attention of their students.