Irish Olympiad of Experimental Science

2023-2024 IrEOES

The Irish Olympiad of Experimental Science (IrEOES) is an individual science competition for Transition Year and Fifth Year students. The first round takes place online and is accessible to any eligible student who wants to take part. You are eligible if you live and go to school in Ireland, are in Transition Year or in Fifth Year, and were born on or after 1st January 2007.

Both Irish teams won a bronze medal at EOES2024 in Luxembourg. They each did two challenging experimental tasks. Task 1 was about cancer. The students investigated cellular metabolism, toxic chemicals, ionising radiation, UV light, and replication errors. Task 2 was about D’Schueberfouer, the annual Luxembourg City funfair. Students analysed three Luxembourg delicacies (Lët’z limo, Luxembourg mustard, and gebaakene Fësch), roller coasters, and LEDs.

Our final two days of training for EOES2024 in Luxembourg took place in Dublin City University on Monday 26th and Tuesday 27th February, 2024.

We did a good bit of lab work and team work and had a lot of fun along the way. We decided to team up as Sarah, Eoin, & Yitian and Stephanie, Kai, & Shane.

Round 3 of IrEOES 2023-2024 took place in Dublin City University on Thursday 18th and Friday 19th January, 2024.

As always we had a lot of fun doing experiments in the students’ subject specialism. We have some great young scientists in the country! In the end we selected Eoin Lai, Kai Seino, Sarah Bowen, Shane Loughlin, Stephanie Rimbi, and Yitian Chen to represent Ireland at EOES2024.

Round 2 of IrEOES 2023-2024 took place in Dublin City University on Saturday 11th November, 2023.

A total of 83 students took part: 30 in Biology, 30 in Chemistry, and 23 in Physics. As always the contestants were given a fair but challenging test. Many thanks to Natalija Aleksejenko, Roisin Byrne, Niamh Donnelly, Emmet Kerr, and Caoilte O Rourke O Cuirrin for helping out on the day.

The 6 medal winners in each subject are:


gold Dara Morley St. Colman’s College, Claremorris, Co. Mayo
silver Sarah Bowen St. Raphaela’s Secondary School, Kilmacud, Co. Dublin
bronze Patrick Chen St. Gerard’s College, Bray, Co. Wicklow
bronze Maya Lenehan Abbey Vocational School, Donegal
bronze Trea Mac Cinna St. Louis Secondary School, Monaghan
bronze Stephanie Rimbi Dominican College, Taylor’s Hill, Galway


gold Yitian Chen St. Andrew’s College, Booterstown, Co. Dublin
silver Shane Loughlin Calasanctius College, Oranmore, Co. Galway
bronze Daria Bokovenko St. Gerard’s College, Bray, Co. Wicklow
bronze Haleema Lamidi Dominican College, Taylor’s Hill, Galway
bronze Lily Power Scoil Mhuire, Cork
bronze Alison Wang St. Columba’s College, Whitechurch, Dublin


gold Saachi Singh Mount Anville Secondary School, Dublin
silver Eoin Lai Institute of Education, Dublin
bronze Xelaya Anthony St. Aloysius Girls Secondary School, Cork
bronze Siobhan O’Brien Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
bronze Charlie O’Leary Castletroy College, Co. Limerick
bronze Kai Seino Mercy Secondary School, Tralee, Co. Kerry

Round 1

Round 1 of IrEOES 2023-2024 took place online on Saturday October 7th 2023, from 10-11 a.m. There were some 150 students taking part in the biology competition, and about 60 each in the chemistry and physics competitions. The questions ranged from straightforward to very challenging.

For further information contact:

Paul van Kampen
Irish EOES Country Coordinator
Phone: (01) 700 5023
Fax: (01) 700 5287