Team Ireland heading to Bali for IJSO 2016

Over a hundred of the highest achievers in Science and Mathematics in the Junior Certificate examinations in 2016 attended DCU on Saturday, 29th October to compete for selection to represent Ireland at the International Junior Science Olympiad in Bali, Indonesia in December 2016.

The students came from all over the country and sat a three-hour examination that covered all of the sciences. To celebrate the success of the students being selected for the events, all students were awarded a certificate. The top three students were presented with gold medals, the next three silver and the next bronze. The gold and silver medalists form the team for IJSO.

As a mark of recognition of the dedication and commitment that the late Dr. Paraic James had in running the Olympiads over the last twenty years, a memorial award has been instigated by the School of Chemical Sciences. This year the award was presented to Conor Boylan from St Mary’s CBS, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford as the top student at IrJSO.


Paraic James memorial award presented by Dermot James to Conor Boylan
Paraic James memorial award presented by Dermot James to Conor Boylan

We wish the team every success in Bali under the mentorship of Dr. Eamonn Cunningham, School of Physical Sciences and Dr. Mercedes Vazquez, School of Chemical Sciences.

Winners of Bronze medals

  • Basem Fouda, De La Salle College, Newtown, Co Waterford
  • Katrina Watson, St Paul’s Secondary School, Oughterard, Co Galway
  • Donál O’Sé, Coláiste na Coiribe, Knocknacarra, Galway

Winners of Silver medals

  • Finn Morrissey, Ard Scoil Rís, Limerick
  • Lilymay Healy, Coláiste Einde, Salthill, Co Galway
  • Zuzana Szczepanek, Dunshaughlin Community College, Co Meath

Winners of Gold medals

  • Conor Boylan, St Mary’s CBS, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford
  • Calvin Davis, Coláiste Phádraig CBS, Lucan, Co Dublin
  • Liam Óg Delaney, Colaiste Choilm, Tullamore, Co Offaly