Results of Irish Chemistry Olympiad 2017 announced

IChO 2017 was held on the 1st April 2017.  Application forms were emailed to school principals and each school was invited to nominate up to two of the most enthusiastic and keenest students in the school in chemistry. Over 130 students attended this year’s IChO competition.

The results of the competition are below.

Michael Hong (Gold medal NI), Methodist College Belfast
Darragh Glynn (Gold medal ROI), St. Paul’s College
Diarmuid O’Donoghue (Silver medal ROI), Ashton School
Alicia Huntley (Silver medal NI), Regent House School
Julian Carolan (Bronze medal), Catholic University School
Aaron Hannon (Bronze medal), St Muredach’s College
Joseph Wickham (Bronze medal), St Peter’s College, Wexford
David McMahon (Bronze medal), Coláiste Choilm

Highly commended
Yan Li, St. Andrew’s College Dublin
Clíona Mcmahon, Holy Faith Clontarf
Jack Murphy, CBS Charleville
Cathal Hosty, Ballyhaunis Community School
James McGinley, St Columb’s College
Conor Cudden, Christian Brothers College Cork
Cal Franklin, St. Augustine’s College
Ciara Browne, Carrigaline Community School

Medal winners and highly commended participants are invited to attend further training during the Easter break after which the final panel will be announced.

IChO is coordinated by Dr. Odilla Finlayson, CASTeL and organised by  Dr Cormac Quigley, GMIT; Dr Pat O’Malley DCU; and Dr Mercedes Vazquez DCU