Team selected for EUSO 2017

Six second-level students have been selected for the Irish team at the 15th European Union Science Olympiad which takes place in Copenhagen on the 7th – 14th May 2017.

These are:

Stephen Trenier, St. Bricin’s College, Belturbet, Co. Cavan
Theo Bolger, Sandford Park School, Ranelagh, Dublin 6
Antonia Huang, Mount Anville, Mt. Anville Rd., Dublin 14
Brian Durkan, St. Muredach’s College, Ballina, Co. Mayo
Kevin Jansson, Presentation Brothers College, Mardyke, Co. Cork
Andrew Nash, Colaiste Muire Realt na Mara, Crosshaven Co. Cork

The European Union Science Olympiad (EUSO) is a multidisciplinary, integrated science, practical-based, team competition for EU second level school science students who are sixteen years of age or younger on December 31st prior to the competition. Young EU students get an opportunity to display their scientific capabilities, develop their talents and promote their career as scientists.

Irish EUSO Organising Committee

Dr. Odilla Finlayson – Olympiad coordinator and EUSO Delegation Leader

Dr. Pat O’Malley – CASTeL, School of Chemical Sciences, DCU

Dr. Paul van Kampen – CASTeL, School of Physical Sciences, DCU

Dr. Christine Loscher, Health Technologies and the Healthy Ageing Society Hub